Out-takes

Ya know when you’re trying really hard to get a cute picture of your kids?….

Image

Sometimes it just doesn’t work out!

Image

Reesie had a question for me tonight:  “What do you think if I growed up to be a designer?  I know how to, like, draw dresses and things, but I just don’t know how to make them and sew them yet.  I need to learn how to do that so I can make money and buy toys and stuff.”  This girl is so much like me it’s scary sometimes.  She drew me a picture of a dress and asked me to sew it for her.  I wish!

Image

When I asked Easton what he wants to be, this is what he told me:  “I want to be a builder and a fixer, because I like to build stuff and fix stuff.  One of Reesie’s toys broke and she thought she knew how to fix it but she couldn’t, so I fixed it instead.  I want to be just like Dad and Bompa…like a mix of both of them that know how to fix and build things.  I want to learn how to build a clock and change light bulbs, or maybe I could build a tree like the one dad built in the hallway.  Maybe I could make a chair like our wooden chair that’s almost ready to break. I could just get some wood and cut a little strip and drill it in so it matches.  If it’s not the same wood then I can paint it to match it.”

Nothing would make me happier than if Easton turns out to be a mix of both his dad and Bompa.  I’m sure there will be a lot of Grammy in there too.  I couldn’t ask for better examples for my kids!  I’m so thankful for our family and the good things that my kids learn each time we’re with them all!

Image

We’ve been staying busy with random things here and there.  Yesterday Sierra watched the kids while Joe and I went to I.F.  We had a really good day just puttering around.  We ate at Chick-Fil-A (one of my favorites!  Joe always chooses Sandwich Tree when it’s his turn to pick!)  We found a back-scratcher for Easton in the dollar section at Target (he’s been looking for one), did more car shopping and test drove another RAV4 sport.  It was a good day just being together and having a little break from everything else.

Image

We went to the Pioneer Day Celebration with our stake last night and visited with Barbara and Lamar Robertson while we ate.  She’s one of my favorite people in the whole world and I just love her.

Image

Barbara told me about her trip to Egypt when she was young, and how it was scary at the time, and she imagines it would be even more so now.  She went on a guided tour and at one of the airports they didn’t have enough passes for their group so the tour guide told them to just run for the plane.  They didn’t think they would be stopped because of all the confusion, but the guards came running after them with their guns and kept the tour guide behind.  She was able to catch up with them a few days later but it sounds like it was pretty crazy!

Image

When we came home, Joe and the kids jumped on the trampoline with the giant bouncy ball while I went inside.  Joe sent the kids in to bed after a while, and I went outside to visit with him on the tramp while they were getting jammies on and drinking their bedtime milk.

We came in the house and I found that Easton had been watching us from the window.  He laughed when he told me how funny it was that I fell off of the ball and went bouncing around.  I’m glad that he was able to see a few minutes of Joe and I having fun together without us being in our usual “mom and dad’ roles.  Does that make sense?  I’m not sure if I’m explaining it the right way, but I think it was good for him to see that Joe and I have fun even when the kids aren’t there watching us.  It was a good day.

Leave a Reply

