eMeals

Today I signed up with a meal planning website called emeals, and I can’t tell you how excited I am about this!  I did some looking around at a few different sites today, and this one seemed like the best fit for me.  You choose a plan to fit your family and each week they send you 7 dinner recipes with side dishes.  There are different plans to choose from, and I picked low-carb, which I thought would be good for Joe’s insulin resistance, and help to get us all eating healthier.  You can choose which store you shop at, and emeals picks their recipes for the week based on the weekly ads for that store.  It also prints out a grocery list that’s organized by section to make shopping easy, and gives a price estimate of how much it will all cost. 

 

Image

I dread dinnertime every day and put off what thinking about what we’ll eat until the last minute.  I’m hoping that by using emeals I can make one trip to the grocery store and be done for the week, instead of the 2-3 trips we make now.  I printed out the meal plan for this week and of the seven there were two recipes that I wasn’t very excited about…one was for fish, which Joe and I don’t care for.  The other called for blue cheese, which I’m planning to substitute with ranch.  I think this will give me a good starting point for our meals.

I heard about emeals on Becky Higgins’ blog about a year or so ago.  She was asking for meal planning ideas and was overwhelmed with people recommending emeals.  There is also a link on the site that says Dave Ramsey recommends it.  Enter the code “DAVE” to get $3 off of the three month plan when you sign up. I signed up for a 3 month plan and after the code it was $17.  It will be worth the $6/month to me if we’re eating actual dinners instead of raiding the fridge for something to get us by each night. 

Image

One of the meals that I printed off for this week was for BBQ pork chops, which I happened to have in the freezer.  I also had some broccoli and Parmesan that was listed as a side on one of the other meals, and we put them together for tonight.  Sorry for the terrible picture, but we were in a hurry to eat!  I also added a hunk of french bread because we had a loaf that needed to be eaten…so much for low carb!  Baby steps.

Image

Leave a Reply

