Father’s Day morning started out with Easton creeping quietly into our bedroom.  Joe heard him crawl over to his side of the bed and slide a paper onto the bedside table, then sneak back out.  Joe said that he opened his eyes and saw a card that Easton had made that said, “Happy birthday, Dad!”  About a minute later, Easton came sneaking back into the room to scribble out the “Happy Birthday” and write “Happy Father’s Day” in its place.  We have got to have some of the funniest kids around 🙂

Image

We went to church and then hurried out to my parents for one of the best meals I’ve ever eaten.  Cody and Dad had barbequed steak and veggies with a special spicy sauce, and there was grilled pineapple with powdered sugar, cinnamon, and coconut.  Casey made an amazing Salted Caramel Cake that was delicious.  Mom made my favorite orange jello salad with mandarin oranges.  MMMMM!!!

 

Image

Image

Joe asked to watch Star Wars all day and eat steak for Father’s Day.  He got to have the steak out at my parents house, but this was as close as we came to watching Star Wars because of all the running around we did.  The kids had the best time reading the Star Wars names of the treats and helping me tape them on each one.  I downloaded them all from this link and you could easily use them for a birthday or other occasion too. 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

We left my parents and headed to Firth, where JoAnn was having a barbeque for Grant.  We had a good time visiting there with all of the family for a few hours, ate some more delicious food, and then came home.  We went into the backyard tonight so I could get a picture of the kids with Joe, then we ended up having Easton take a few more pictures of Joe and I together.  I sort of love how they turned out 🙂

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

It was a great day and I’m so thankful for the two best dads around, both my own father and the father of my children.  I’m grateful to both of them for the good example they are to everyone around them, and especially for the examples they are to my kids.  Both of them spend time with Easton and Reese, helping them learn and grow.  I’ve been sitting here at the computer for at least 10 minutes just thinking about how much I love them and trying to put those feelings into words…it’s hard for me to do, but I hope they know how much they mean to me.  I love you both so much!

