Lunchables

This morning started out kinda crazy.  Easton was going rollerskating for his field trip today and I woke up this morning to take him.  I had his Lunchable all ready to go, but Joe was worried it would go bad before they were able to eat it, so I made him a PB sandwich instead.  We got him packed up and I took him to school, but after I dropped him off I came back home and saw that we forgot to put his chips in the bag and they were still sitting out on the counter. 

I started to feel a little guilty about his boring lunch…I had even sent him a water bottle to drink because it’s all we had.  When I was in school the field trip lunches were something I looked forward to all year because of the treats!  I hopped back in the car and ran into Walgreens (in my jammies and slippers, no less!) where I bought him some Starburst and a drink, then ran back over to his school to take in to him.  I went into his classroom where Easton and about 3-4 other boys were gathered together peeking into each others lunches.  One of the kids told me it was funny I came with snacks because Easton had just been complaining about not having anything good to eat 🙂

I came back home and Reese and I got ready for the day.  Sierra called me last night and offered to watch her for me today, but she decided not to come and Reese was a little bummed about it.  We decided to go on a picnic instead.  We packed up the purple and pink afghan that Joe’s niece Maria made for Reese, and went over by Airport Park with our Lunchables.

Image

Image

 

Image

My legs really are that mayonnaise color in real life….sad but true.  The next picture shows what was in our Lunchables, plus some Who-Nu (supposed-to-be-nutritious) cookies and a banana.  I gave Reese my turkey (blech!) and stuck with the cheese and crackers.

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

I’m realizing that my one-on-one time with her is running low.  She’s going to be starting kindergarten in the Fall and will be gone for a part of every day.  I feel like this is our last year together.  and then…..what?!  Will I be going back to work?  ….. or try to re-start my photography business that I got burnt out on?  It’s still very important to me to be home with my kids as soon as they get off the bus every day and that isn’t possible with most jobs.  I went to daycare for all of my childhood and I don’t want that for them if I can help it.  For now I’m just going to enjoy my time with them as much as I can and hope we can work it out when we get to that point!

Image

 

Image

2 thoughts on “Lunchables

Leave a Reply

