Literacy Luau

So did anyone try downloading my print from yesterday?  I’m not sure how to even check to see if it’s working okay.  Let me know if there are any problems and I’ll do some more checking!

Image

Easton came flying off the bus today with a huge smile on his face.  It was a little hard to see his smile, what with the rain and hail coming down, but it was there!  He’s been working on a goal to read all 41 books that were on the PTA reading challenge.  He wanted to give up about halfway through, but I made him keep going on it and he got it done.  He likes to read but it got a little overwhelming trying to find all of the books on the list at the library.  I’m so happy that he finished!

He had his Literacy Luau party today and it sounded like he had an amazing time.  They really went to a lot of effort to make it a special day for the kids.  He came home with a surfboard painted on his face, several leis wrapped around him, and a handful of Hawaiian themed party favors scattered in his backpack.  He also got a new Magic Tree House book. 

Image

I thought it was funny that he got off the bus with his (broken) umbrella.  I didn’t know he had taken it with him this morning! 

Image

Reese and I went with Tammy to Shelley this morning.  We stopped at The Ribbon Retreat and I got to see my friend Lanae.  She’s the owner of the Ribbon Retreat but I haven’t seen her any of the times that I’ve stopped by in the past, so it was so good to see her!  Our families grew up down the road from each other and I just love all of them (I should count them all to be sure, but I think there are 11 siblings…and they’re all so fun!)  The store is doing some kind of quilting train and they have a lot of fun things going on.  I got a free fat quarter by spinning the Plinko wheel!  Their store has the cutest fabrics so you should click on the link or stop by if you’re in the area!

After we were finished at the Ribbon Retreat we decided to eat at Mick’s Diner in Shelley.  I was a little nervous about eating there, (it looks like it should be on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives), but I’ve heard from several people that it’s a good place to go.  We all thought it was pretty good.  The waitresses wear shirts that say “We have the best buns”, and we found out that they do…the hamburger buns were homemade and delicious!  Plus, it was only $20 for the three of us.  I think Joe would especially like it!

 

Leave a Reply

